All about the land we love …

About Father Abram J Ryan Assembly 1087

Father Abram J Ryan Assembly 1087 is one of the 4th Degree Assemblies of the Knights of Columbus.  Assembly 1087 was established in the year 1907 to serve the north Texas area.  It is currently the oldest 4th Degree Assembly (and some say the “best”) in the state of Texas.  Our Assembly includes members from the following Knights of Columbus Subordinate Councils:  Dallas County: 799, 4370, 5538, 11414, 11862, 11937, 13068, 14568, 14810, 15852; Terrell County: 6887; Talty County:13133

About the Knights of Columbus

The Knights of Columbus is the world’s largest Catholic fraternal service organization. It was founded by the Venerable Father Michael J. McGivney in New Haven, Connecticut in 1882, and named in honor of Christopher Columbus. Originally serving as a mutual benefit society to low-income immigrant Catholics, it developed into a fraternal service organization dedicated to providing charitable services, promoting Catholic education and actively defending Catholicism in various nations.

There are more than 1.8 million members in 15,000 councils, with nearly 200 councils on college campuses. Membership is limited to “practical Catholic” men aged 18 or older. The Order is dedicated to the principles of Charity, Unity, Fraternity and Patriotism.  Membership consists of 4 different degrees, each exemplifying a different principle of the Order.

About the Fourth Degree

The Fourth Degree is the highest degree of the Order. The primary purpose of the Fourth Degree is to promote the spirit of patriotism, love of country and active Catholic citizenship. Members of this degree are addressed as “Sir Knight”. Fewer than 18% of Knights join the Fourth Degree, which is optional; of a total 1,703,307 Knights there are 292,289 Fourth Degree Knights. A Knight is eligible to join the Fourth Degree provided that he has completed the 2nd and 3rd degrees, is a citizen of the country in which he resides and is in good-standing with his council.